OPINION – Representing Mining Communities

Share the Story:

Now the NSW State election is over, all those who stood as candidates deserve our thanks. It’s a tough job, involving a lot of hard work and sacrifice, so it was great to see good people were prepared to take a chance to run for Parliament so they could represent their local communities.

Mining is a big part of many towns and communities across NSW, and the election results have delivered a solid contingent of MPs elected to represent mining workers and their families. While there will be many challenges over the term of the new Parliament, it is good to know that mining communities are so well represented when important decisions are made.

In particular, congratulations go to Dave Layzell in Upper Hunter, Jenny Aitchison in Maitland, Roy Butler in Barwon, Greg Piper in Lake Macquarie, Kate Washington in Port Stephens, Clayton Barr in Cessnock, Jodie Harrison in Charlestown, Dugald Saunders in Dubbo, Former Deputy Premier Paul Toole in Bathurst, Paul Scully in Wollongong, Phil Donato in Orange, Kevin Anderson in Tamworth, Yasmin Catley in Swansea and Sonia Hornery in Wallsend.

All these elected Members of Parliament represent mining communities in the NSW Parliament, and understand the needs of local mining families. They join many other MPs who also understand the importance of a strong mining sector to the NSW economy.

We look forward to continuing to work with all MPs in the new Parliament to deliver better outcomes for mining families and communities across NSW.

Stephen Galilee, CEO, NSW Minerals Council

Share the Story: