Safety Awards Return

Share the Story:

After a thrice postponed 2020 award ceremony, the Hunter Safety Awards are back to normal for their 2022 awards, with major sponsor AGL continuing their sponsorship of the local awards.

Proving their ongoing commitment to safety, the energy provider will also be sponsoring one of the 14 award categories, which are officially open for submissions.

Submissions are open and eligible to local businesses who have integrated work, health and safety as part of their core business.

AGL General Manager Liddell and Bayswater, Len McLachlan said AGL is proud to sponsor the Hunter Safety Awards in 2022.

“At AGL our priority is reliably providing essential services for our customers and our communities – but doing so with safety as a non-negotiable consideration,” Mr McLachlan said.

“We have been impressed by the work that businesses in the Hunter region have done to put health, safety and wellbeing first.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has presented its own set of challenges in managing a safe workplace and emphasised the importance of prioritising mental health in the workplace.

“Every year, submissions showcase the innovative ways businesses and individuals are committing to safety, ensuring that not only their workplace is safe but the wider community too.”

HSA EventImage2 2019
HSA EventImage 2019

After the COVID-19 pandemic forced the 2020 Hunter Safety Awards to be postponed to 2021, the team were hopeful the winners would get a second chance to dress up to celebrate the occasion.

However, the pandemic had other plans. The most recent outbreak meant the award ceremony, due to be held in August this year, had to be cancelled.

The Founder and driving force behind the Hunter Safety Awards, Sarah-Jane Dunford said the decision to cancel following the postponement was difficult, but necessary.

“As the leading, and only awards in the Hunter region dedicated to safety, we had to lead by example,” Sarah-Jane said.

“We were monitoring the situation closely and as it grew worse; we knew we had to cancel the event. In the end, we made the right decision as the outbreak in the Hunter soon got out of hand.”

Instead, the 2020 winners were announced virtually on social media and the website.

HSA SarahJaneDunford Portrait 2019
Hunter Safety Awards Founder, Sarah-Jane Dunford
HSA SpotlightElements Aug2019 04

“With all signs pointing to a more ‘normal’ awards for 2022, we are really encouraging people to enter the safety awards and get the recognition they deserve,” Sarah-Jane concluded.

Award criteria and submission guidelines for Hunter businesses can be downloaded via the Hunter Safety Awards website. The thirteen award categories will be as listed below;

  • WHS Business of the Year (not open for submissions, awarded by judges) – sponsored by AGL
  • WHS Champion of the Year
  • Young WHS Leader of the Year – sponsored by uvex
  • Most Innovative WHS Idea (Large organisation) – sponsored by WesTrac
  • Most Innovative WHS Idea (SME) – sponsored by 3M
  • Best WHS Management System (Large organisation) – sponsored by Red Insight
  • Best WHS Management System (SME) – sponsored by CypherIQ Digital
  • Best WHS Improvement (Large organisation)
  • Best WHS Improvement (SME) – ARTC
  • Best Health & Wellbeing Program (Large Organisation)
  • Best Health & Wellbeing Program (SME) – sponsored by Tomago Aluminium
  • WHS Student of the Year
  • Best WHS Training Course

The 2022 Hunter Safety Awards is due to be held Friday 11 March 2022 at the Newcastle Exhibition Centre (NEX).

Submissions are now open for the 2022 awards. Click here to view the criteria.

Applications for all submissions will close 5 November 2021.

Share the Story: